Mobile Banking »

About Us

History of Franklin-Somerset Federal Credit Union Charter #15159

Franklin-Somerset Federal Credit Union’s humble beginnings began as Bass Shoe Federal Credit Union with 8 members – six women and two men, each with a share of $5.00, on August 6, 1962. Since then, our charter has changed a bit and our field of membership grown. In the seventies, Bass Shoe Federal Credit Union became Wilton Community, then Franklin County Federal Credit Union. The eighties saw Bennett Importing FCU and Mt. Blue FCU merging with Franklin County Federal Credit Union, and a new branch built in Kingfield. Skowhegan Community FCU merged with Franklin County in 2000, and Madison-Anson followed in 2002, for our present day field of membership to include all of Franklin and Somerset Counties. Our current branch locations are Farmington, Kingfield, Stratton, Skowhegan, and Madison – and we have an Operations Center in Madison as well. We now have over 10,700 members in our credit union family!

It's time for Annual Meeting, and you're invited!  This year, the event will be held on April 27, 2024 at 10:00 a.m. at the Main Street Middle School in Madison.  Hope to see you there!!